les petites bouchees

crafts, cooking, diy, a bit of this and a bit of that

I am back….. April 7, 2013

Filed under: RECIPES — lespetitesbouchees @ 1:47 pm
Tags: , ,

I know that I have been MIA for a bit….had a terrible cold and work was CRAZY!!!!!  I have also been doing some things around the house that I will post pictures of as soon as I am finished.  Anyway, I made a very delicious pot roast for dinner last night and thought I would share this amazing one pot meal with you.

Ingredients:

4lb bottom roast

1 large onion, sliced

8 oz sliced mushrooms

4-6 red potatoes, cut up

1 small bag of baby carrots

1 bottle of chili sauce

1 can cola

1 envelope onion soup mix

water

1 cup red wine

salt and pepper

vegetable oil

Season your roast with salt and pepper and brown in oil on all sides in a heavy pot.  I use my Le Creuset.

Remove roast to a plate and saute onions and mushrooms in pot until onions are soft and lightly browned.

Return roast to pot, add chili sauce, cola, onion soup mix, wine and i fill the empty chili sauce bottle with water and that is the amount of water I use.  It also allows you to get all the chili sauce out!

Bring it up to a simmer, cover and let cook for 3 hours.

At this time I add my carrots and about 30 minutes later my cut up potatoes.

It does take a lot of time, but I find it comes out much better in the pot than in my slow cooker.

You can even cook it in a low oven.

The meat is super soft and the sauce is absolutely wonderful!!!!!  It is even better the next day!!!!!!

Serve with dinner rolls to sop up the gravy!

 

 

One Response to “I am back…..”

  1. Elliot Says:

    Sounds interesting will try and report back


Leave a Reply

